Tags

, , ,

Dear Jane Austen,

It would seem from your books that you have a sense of humor, so I thought you’d get a kick out of seeing one of the gifts I got on my last birthday.

The tiny type underneath the words “Action Figure” on the package is a line from Pride and Prejuduce (Which is obvious to you, I’m sure):

For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbors and laugh at them in our turn?

Great line. I’m not exactly clear why the makers of your action figure chose that particular line, however. Any ideas? I would have chosen something like,

Let other pens dwell on guilt and misery. (Mansfield Park)

Or even,

It sometimes happens that a woman is handsomer at twenty-nine than she was ten years before. (Persuasion)

Which would be very much in line with your humor, don’t you think?

Your action figure is still in the box, because the intact presentation cracks me up. I have yet to see how your action figure rolls around or goes into actual action, but once I take it out of the box I’ll report back on what tricks you can do.  I don’t think they modeled your likeness to do any kung-fu kicks, though. Hope you don’t mind.

I’m glad they were reverent in their recreation of you. Just think if they had made a Jane Austen Barbie! 36 DD’s would be tough to fit in a bodice from your century, so I think the creators of your figure took the right route. Although, Barbie does have more movable parts and can do those high kicks. She had a Dream House and Ken (for whatever he’s worth), too. You only get a quill and a small desk. So it’s a toss up.

Your writing has always inspired me. It is deep and funny, the issues seemingly time-less. Just look at all the remakes that have been made and are still being made of your stories! Now I can be inspired by this tiny likeness of you as well as your words on a page. I will keep you on my desk, once you are out of the box.

I’m impressed that you could write so well by candlelight and without a word processor. You must have had good eyes. My eyes are weaker every day and I have nothing like your excuse of electricity not even being invented to blame on it. So, well done there.

Jane, I will write again as there is much to say to you, but I wanted to share the fact that you have really hit the big time by having your own action figure. You ROCK! And now apparently, because you are an action figure, you ROLL too. Congratulations!

Come to dinner sometime. I’ll roast a pheasant that I shot while out hunting that morning and we can dish about Mr. Darcy ’til the wee hours.

Farewell until next time,

Miss MoL

