Tags

ARE YOU KIDDING ME THAT YOU HAVE PUNCHED A HOLE IN THE SEA FLOOR AND CAN’T STOP IT BACK UP?

As I was listening to the news yesterday I finally had to put one hand over each ear and start saying LA-LA-LA-LA-LA loudly, so I couldn’t hear the news anymore. Thousands of gallons of oil pouring uncontrollably into the Gulf? Really? This is worse than any nightmare because we can’t wake up.

My clean beach.

HORRIFYING STUFF, BP. How DARE you not be able to fix your mess of ecological and economical proportions so great that the area may never recover. How DARE you have a system in place that you can not repair. How DARE you ruin livelihoods and lives. How DARE you create the risk of dead zones in the ocean. My God, I am so horrified.

I took a walk on my local beach this morning. It was oil free.

...

Clean white birds, crystal clear water, and the unexpected surprise of clusters of bright starfish. EVERYWHERE. Not something that the folks in the Gulf will be seeing any time soon. Decades of disaster, say the papers. Decades.

...

I mourned the birds and the Gulf starfish, the shrimp, the fish, and the people just trying to make a living from the most important element on our planet.

HEY, BP. Stop up the hole, clean up your mess, dismantle your rigs, and go home. You’ve done enough damage.

