HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY! Also know as S.A.D. or Singles Awareness Day.

Yes, this year I am single and I LOVE Valentine’s Day. But that’s okay, because ultimately it’s a day about love and there are many people in my life that I love and who love me, so we will celebrate each other.

Valentine’s Day gets a bad rap for being a “forced day of love” or “over commercialized” or “created by Hallmark so they can make money with cheesy cards”. But like much in life, Valentine’s Day is what YOU make it. And really what is so wrong having a whole day set aside for the acknowledgment of love? Some people say, “It should be Valentine’s Day every day and we don’t need to be forced to recognize it on February 14th”. I hear ya. But do you really celebrate it every day? Do you really send your beloved a bouquet of flowers and a card oozing with dripping red hearts on, say, July 16th? Probably not. So let’s USE this day as a reminder to just love. And tell the people that we care about HOW MUCH we do care.

Valentine’s Day for me is a day to say Thank You and I Love You to the people in my life who are a part of my heart. This year is also a year to remember a very real, very true love that is no longer in my life and to say Thank You to that as well.

Life is short, people. And it may not be everything, but LOVE is a hell of a lot.

Happy Heart Day.

Miss MoL

