Tags

, , , ,

Sometimes we are starving and we don’t even know it.

...

Sometimes there is a hunger deep down that manifests itself as a cold or irritability or as a general malaise. It can manifest as the desire to eat a whole pizza or drink too much bourbon.

...

It can show up in road rage or the unreal desire to face down the last person who broke your heart while swinging a sword, samurai style, and shouting “How dare you?”.

I discovered, this weekend, that that hunger in me was a need to sit and do nothing but stare at nature.

...

A weekend at a friend’s house with a reading nook looking out onto the ocean cured my starving soul. From morning, to afternoon, to sunset I sat and watched the grasses move.

The reading nook.

I witnessed the pelicans fly by in solemn brown groups of four, five and eight. Sometimes they were so close I could see their feathers ruffle in the updraft.

The giant eucalyptus tree at the end of the yard stood stark at noon and glowed in the late day light.

...

A stiff breeze made it’s fragrant leaves whisper and soothe that deep, down hunger for nature that I have sorely neglected as of late.

From the outside looking in.

I read a lot in the reading nook, but mostly I just stared out at the ocean and let it sink in like the balm that it can be, the food for the soul that it offers just by being there; blue and unabashedly big.

Inside looking out.

My cold-like symptoms disappeared, my samurai fantasies melted into peaceful understanding. All became right with the world once more.

Night in the nook.

I was reminded of my great fortune – the fortune of family and friends – connections that offer the opportunity for respite and renewal in an oceanside cottage; all of it possible and made better by the blithe spirit that came into the world twenty-two years ago.

A treasure of a person that changed my singular world for the better and continues to change the world as a whole.

And yet another morning of seaside splendor.

Thank you.

