Tags

, , , ,

The other night found me, once again, sitting in front of my television taking pictures of the movie that was showing. Once again, the movie starred Katharine Hepburn. This time she is eleven years older and alone on vacation in Venice, Italy.

Every time I sat back on the couch to relax and watch the movie, another scene would come up in such splendid technicolor I had to rush over to the TV and take yet another picture (there were about 40 on my phone the next day, but the lighting was not good, so I have only shared the good-ish ones).

KH and the tacky Americanos arrive in Venice.

I’ve never been to Venice (not yet anyway), but I have always had a grotesquely distorted image of it in my mind as the epitome of romantic places in the world.

When I was sixteen, I wrote a story for a creative writing project (actually typed on onion skin paper) about a romantic rendezvous on a bridge in Venice . There were two pages required for this assignment. I got a little carried away and ended up typing twenty pages so engrossed was I in creating romance in a world suffused with watery reflections that bounced off the walls of crumbling palazzos.

Venice, 1955, in full technicolor.

Anyway, I related to Hepburn’s character, Miss Hudson, in this movie. I also travel alone, have spent much time alone as of late and am getting a little tired of it, to be honest. I’ll be going to England in April to be with family and friends and I really expect to see out of the corner of my eye, a distinguished gentleman pleasantly watching me as I film the world around me, as I so often do now. My camera and clothes are a bit different, unfortunately, but this particular scenario still exists in the world, which may be one reason why movies like this retain their allure. It’s timeless.

Shades of my life.

The movie is SUMMERTIME from 1955 starring the great Kate and Rossano Brazzi. If you haven’t seen it in a while (or ever!), I highly suggest it. Romance is alive and well in this Venice.

Ciao.

