Tags

, , ,

 

In July of 2013, the gallery I work in will be showcasing this printer’s voice in our (can’t find the right adjective) town. I don’t remember a time I’ve been more excited about curating an exhibition; excited personally, visually, and emotionally. It’s no coincidence that it takes place during the fifty year anniversary of the civil rights movement in Alabama and the South and This United States. The fact that our gallery gets to host this statement of truthful creativity, that has deep undertones of joy for all humanity, is a gift I didn’t see coming in my career.

Here’s to Amos Kennedy. And if you’ve never heard of him, you should. The man is a force of passionate positivity, the embodiment of fearlessness of the spirit. A man to look at and think, “I aspire to be as much a man as he is”. At least I do.

Cheers to you, Amos. And to the rest of you? Proceed and Be Bold.

Below is one of Amos’ prints that hang in my house. Also, I have the documentary DVD, so If you’d like to borrow it, just let me know.

Find all of his available prints here: http://www.kennedyprints.com/

